MCH & Audiology

I am a 2010-2011 MCH trainee and third year student in the Doctor of Audiology program at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, with a primary interest in pediatric audiology. By completing the MCH leadership training program, I hope to integrate key MCH concepts, methods, and competencies into my practice as a pediatric audiologist to better serve children and their families.

My goal is to work in a pediatric hospital or clinic setting as part of a multidisciplinary team that involves collaboration with fellow professionals in the early intervention, health care, and educational communities.  I hope to work in a setting that appreciates and is sensitive to the diverse social and cultural backgrounds of the children and families served. As a pediatric audiologist, I would incorporate a family-centered and culturally competent approach into my practice that advocates for the involvement of the child’s family as much as possible throughout the diagnostic and intervention process.  Early hearing detection and intervention programs have greatly improved outcomes for infants and young children with hearing loss; I want to contribute to the success and improvement of these programs at local, state, and national levels.  The MCH training program will give me the tools to work toward these goals and become a strong leader and clinician.

I recently completed the three-day leadership intensive and found the experience to be extremely enlightening and valuable.  I look forward to advancing my knowledge of MCH even further over the course of this next year at the various workshops and conferences.  To date my experience in the program has been a sign of good things to come.

Brittany Richardson, B.A.

Doctor of Audiology, Au.D., expected in May 2012

This entry was posted in LEND Trainee. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

